A period property that dates back to the early 19th century, situated on Main Street in the picturesque heritage town of Abbeyleix in County Laois, Ireland.
This was the first ever Post primary school in Co Laois, now restaurant and Guesthouse. Preston House began life as The Assembly Rooms, a meeting place for civic business in the town. Following an investigation into the running of ‘The Preston School’ in Ballyroan (a nearby village), it was decided in 1896 that the school should be moved to The Assembly Rooms with a new Board of Management of which Viscount de Vesci was chairman. The School was an endowed school and, under charter, it was obliged to teach both Catholic and Church of Ireland children. The Preston School remained in Abbeyleix until 1966 when the last school master Mr Mc Shane retired.
It was then bought by a local business man who also owed Morrissey’s Pub at the time. He lived here but converted the first and second floor into apartments, but as he was an auctioneer he left the assembly room untouched which is now used for private functions.
Preston House was then sold and converted into a restaurant and has now evolved into an award winning Restaurant, Bespoke Wedding Venue and Guesthouse.
Breda and Danny took over Preston House and opened their doors on the 12th July 2012 and their aim is to create a pleasant and relaxing experience for all their dining and overnight guests.
“We hope you get a chance to visit soon and if we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to ask by sending us an enquiry using the form on this site,
Breda & Danny”